Style Guide

Use the following style guide when referring to the George A. Smathers Libraries.

See official UF guidelines at The Smathers Libraries logo can be downloaded from that page or through a request to the Director of Communications.

The first time the Libraries are mentioned use: The George A. Smathers Libraries at the University of Florida. After that, use the George A. Smathers Libraries or Smathers Libraries.

The Libraries system is plural: The George A. Smathers Libraries are… (not is).

The official name of the “Smathers Library” is that. (East) can be added for clarification but it is not the “George A. Smathers Library” or “Library East.” The name was changed from Library East in 1987 after a major renovation.

“Library West” is the official name of the Humanities and Social Sciences Library.

The official name of the Libraries system is “George A. Smathers Libraries.” It was changed from “UF Libraries” in 1991 in honor of the late Senator George A. Smathers.

The Smathers Libraries system includes six library buildings:

  • Architecture & Fine Arts Library
  • Education Library
  • Health Science Center Libraries (includes Borland Library in Jacksonville)
  • Library West (Humanities & Social Sciences)
  • Marston Science Library
  • Smathers Library (Special & Area Studies Collections)

The seventh library on campus is the Legal Information Center, which is part of the Levin College of Law and not the George A. Smathers Libraries system. If referring to ALL libraries use “UF Libraries.” Otherwise, use “George A. Smathers Libraries.”

For more information about the George A. Smathers Libraries see our Libraries at a Glance page.

Also see our Libraries history and timeline.

The Libraries’ web page is: